My Pay it Forward Experience :-)


Hello Everyone!

Allow me to share with you, my Pay It Forward Experience!

For you to be able to understand, my experience, I would like to give you a quick reminder about the movie that inspired, and encouraged me to do so.

Pay It Forward ’, Stars Kevin Spacey, Helen Hunt and Haley Joel Osment.

It starts, when an eleven year old boy (Hayle), begins seventh grade, his social studies teacher (Kevin) gives the class an assignment, to devise and put into action a plan that will change the world for better. The boy’s plan is a charitable program based on the networking of good deeds. He calls his plan “Pay it forward”, which means of paying a favor not back, but forward–repaying good deeds with new good deeds done to three new people.

The boy does a favour for three people, asking each of them to “pay the favour forward” by doing favours for three other people, and so on, so it’s along branching tree of good deeds!!

I was just inspired by the movie and the idea itself. So I thought to myself ‘Why not apply this idea? ‘, I actually started to apply it, when my friend and I were walking through Cairo Downtown, in Egypt, passing along Talaat Harb Square. Where we were attracted and stopped by the scenery, of beautifully displayed items and little antiques that were spread on a cloth on the floor, looking further, this man was laying out each small item neatly and delicately.

We started to ask questions on a few of the items he had had laid there, and with all pleasure and excitement, he began answering our questions, and I then asked him a question, which I simply had to ask, quoting “What makes you come here every day, lay out your antiques, and go home and do the same thing again?” he looked at us and smiled with a response, saying “After the Egyptian Revolution, and after participating in it, I was inspired. I left my work back home in Nuba, and decided to show and share the Nubian and Egyptian culture, by taking it to the streets.I come here, and display my antiques to be sold, so people can have a taste of all of the 7 arts; from music, to puppet shows, drawing and history discussions, spreading my message with fun”.

Mind you, I was impressed, and could see why! He had a message to send out and it was via the streets.

From that day, I decide that he would be my first person to help, in the ‘Pay it forward’ experiment. So every week, we would go and take a few photos of this inspiring man known as Khaled Bahr.

As we got to know Khaled, he mentioned that he had a dream of making stickers that he would be able to use, to spread his work and message. But due to circumstances, he never managed to accomplish it.

So a light bulb went off in my head, along with a smile of cheekiness and joy! Hehe.
That was it that was the help I could offer him!

I began putting my skills at work, after having a vague idea of his design. I designed for him the look of the sticker, printed it, and made him 600 stickers.

I was so excited; all I could think about were two things; that I had actually accomplished something good that will leave someone happy and motivated, secondly, picturing the reaction on Mr.Khaled’s face!

So, on Tuesday, 10th of April, my friend and I, went to see him, and as we drew closer to Mr.Khaled, she with her camera, ready to capture his reaction, and I with the stickers, he hesitated to take it from me at first. I think he couldn’t or didn’t want to believe what his eyes saw in front of him. Once opening the package, and seeing the stickers, a smile on his face literally reached from one ear to another.

A priceless moment!

Allow me to share with you some photos, of Mr.Khaled’s reaction after receiving the stickers.

After having seeing that and sharing his moment, of a simple dream come true, for a greater good to come out of it! I did tell and explain, to Mr.Khaled the role he had to do now, is to help 3 other people.

I can officially say “Mission 1 accomplished! “ Yay!

(Click the thumbnail image for larger size photo!)

Please continue to read and know more about Mr.Khaled Bahr.

Mr.Khaled Bahr is a passionate Egyptian who loves collecting antiques and old items from homes in Waset El Balad, Downtown that had foreigners once living there from Greeks to Italians, British and some of the richest Egyptians whom while renovating their homes decided to get rid of these old holdings in order to buy other new ones.

As a result of Mr.Khaled being inspired and infatuated by this hobby, which he inherited from his Nubian grandmother, who made him love collecting antiques, he managed to turn his hobby into a job he loves working in, which has made himself a well known unique reputation among the antique collectors, and has pursued it ever since. He tried to offer his presentation of antiques to The Sawy Cultural Wheel, but had no luck in that.

In spite that, he didn’t give up, he kept going, during the 25th January Revolution, Mr.Khaled continuously presented his display of antiques, laying them piece by piece, on a chosen spot in Tahrir Square, that’s nearby his home. He had received a big response and admiration for his display from the people present there during the revolution, who also encouraged him to display the rest of his miniature sized antiques, in Talaat Harab Square, Downtown.
Once thinking of that, he had an idea to take it to the streets; his idea was to spread and prove that the street can be a presentation for antiques and arts, which is also known for ‘Street Art’.

Now as his mission, he gets up every day, packing his antiques, going to his well known spot and place in Talaat Harab Square, Downtown eager and excited to display his antiques and collected items piece by piece, laid out no matter the size or age of the item, making a place for them all, each placed neatly and carefully, to make an end result of a wonderful impressive display, to attract the bystander; those who sneak a glimpse at the display while continuing to walk on by, or to those who stop to watch and buy an item they liked.
Either way, he is thrilled and happy that he has given people a Nubian taste of art as well as other cultures, awaiting each day, an adventure of meeting new faces and people to explain to them the history of each antique. He also displays live shows of puppets and played music.

I myself have personally bought so far from his delicately laid out display, an old antique Zippo lighter with a coin like dragon picture sealed on it.

Mr.Khaled’s mission and message he is sending out through his street art “A New Way of Thinking!”
You can find him every day at Talaat Harab square, Downtown, with his collection that will have you standing there for ages, guaranteeing you, walking away with an antique in your hand and a smile

Thank you, for allowing me to share my wonderful inspiring experience with you.

Stay posted for my mission number 2 

‘Allow yourself to be inspired, by all that is around you’

Please like and share

Written by
Rasha Saber

24 thoughts on “My Pay it Forward Experience :-)

  1. That was astounding Rasha, you have really got me inspired by that story. It’s unbelievable how such little things can make life better for others. I mean actually caring is the start of it all. You have done it in such a creative way and have managed to make a man truly happy out it. I bet that feel awesome Rasha and I can’t wait to read about your next two missions. We are all focusing on the bad things without actually making enough effort to change them but you did and it all starts with one person and it will grow from there. I am thinking of how I can do such a thing soon and should I be able to do it, I will certainly let you know. Great inspirational work and I hope the fever of good deeds grows and inspires not just a few but millions eventually. God bless you Rasha and thank you so much for sharing such a great article and story. Something good to reach for a change. :)))

    • Hany,
      I am so so honored and thankful for your feedback and comment.
      Your words, yet like many others, are encouraging me to do more!

      Of course, i will keep you posted, with my other two upcoming missions 🙂

      I am glad you got my message on STOP focusing on the negative things, when we can do so much with the positive.

      Bless you, and THANKS again….

      Have a fab day 🙂

      Rasha Saber
      😉

  2. Thank you Rasha very much but you are the one who should be thanks for initiating such a great idea. I am just applauding the excellent effort you have done of taking an inspiring movie into an actual reality for a change. That alone deserves a great applause. Of course I got the message and it’s little things that we do sometimes that keep us going and fill us with hope. Great work again and God bless you Rasha . Of course once I choose the pay it forward project I intend to do and actually finish I will let you know. Have a great day and thanks again for bringing us such a good inspirational story :))

    • Aymaaaaaaaaaaan!
      Well HELLO to my humble blog.

      Loool about your comment. My dear i didn’t do anything, i just allowed my inspiration be
      translated into action :-).

      I am so happy, i did this, and hopefully soon mission 2 will be completed 🙂
      Thank you

      Don’t forget to share it.

      Good luck and Allah bless u!!

  3. Subject of a wonderful and inspiring idea for many of the ideas produced for the advancement of our country

  4. Hello Folan el folany,

    Lol on the name 🙂

    I am very happy and glad you liked my story. Indeed, it is a productive idea we can apply to our country, Egypt and around the world too!

    I hope you too, find the time to do this, to feel and go through this amazing experience.
    There is anything, i can help you with! Please let me know

    God bless u and us all 🙂

  5. I have no faith in “religion”, I have no faith in “government”, my faith lay in the Human race, my brothers and sisters of this small blue planet. It is people like you, who add strength to my conviction.. Thank you for being a “light bringer”. 😀

  6. Hiya Raymond,

    Firstly, Allow me to say THANK YOU very much! for your encouraging words, in which, like other comments have given a boost, for my next mission 🙂

    Secondly,You are so correct! It all lies in faith with ourselves, others and the human race!!

    Religion ls a relationship between God and the person, alone!!

    Cheers again, Raymond!
    Hope to hear about your experiences!

    Rasha

  7. woooooooooooow most i like in that story is thats its not fancy but that happened in real life and gud gifted u really that idea cuz i think thats a peace of madenet aflatone but this 1 was appliyed suceccfully 🙂 well done

  8. Hey Mohammed,

    Surfer, this means so much to me, that you commented!
    I am glad you and others we and are inspired by this, and that my message was simple and was reached. 🙂

    Wouldn’t that be nice!
    Thank you again, for your kind and encouraging words!
    God bless us all in making a difference in the world~

    Have a nice day my best friend:-)

Leave a comment